O₂ Utah Donor Spotlight

Kiersten Swindle, Salt Lake City

Hi there,

The last few weeks of dirty air serve as a harsh reminder of the challenge we are facing.

As we head into the final few weeks of the legislative session, O₂ Utah is pushing to pass the first phase of Prosperity 2030. Specifically, we are targeting bromine emissions, a potent contributor to our winter-time pollution.

Your generous donations go directly to our time on Capitol Hill as we work for a healthier future.

This month's Donor Spotlight highlights Kiersten Swindle. Kiersten grew up in the valley and works as a PA for University of Utah Health.

Let's get to know Kiersten a bit more.

What do you love about Utah?

What’s not to love about Utah?…except our air quality. What I love most about Utah is its easy access to the trails, mountains, streams, and outdoors. I grew up in the avenues and loved having a trail just out my back door. I love to bike, ski, hike, run, camp, and backpack. I have lived in Utah the majority of my life and am still finding new areas to explore.

How does Utah's poor air quality affect you?

Utah’s poor air quality affects both me and my kids as well as in my work. When the air is bad I am unable to go out and do the activities I enjoy, specifically running. I most recently have had a flair in exercised induced asthma and I do believe it's linked to the air quality. I also have two young kids that I worry about being exposed to the pollutants on bad air days, leaving us stuck inside. Working in medicine I often see an uptick in respiratory complications in January and February primarily due to the added inversion.

Why is it important to you to support O₂ Utah?

It is important to me to support O₂ Utah so there can be an active change in our air quality and environment as a whole. I feel very passionate about helping where we are able to take care of our earth and keep Utah in her natural beauty. I am specifically excited about the new bill O₂ has introduced this legislative session, Prosperity 2030. It has a well thought out plan on how to reduce emissions and improve our air.

O₂ Utah is an environmental nonprofit whose mission is to clean our state's air and eliminate our contributions to climate change through elections and policy. Donate today to support our work and clean Utah's air.